Burma - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements
Last published date: 2022-07-28

Burma has signed and ratified bilateral investment agreements with China, India, Japan, South Korea, Laos, the Philippines, and Thailand.  It has also signed bilateral investment agreements with Israel and Vietnam, although those have not yet entered into force.  

Burma does not have a bilateral investment treaty or a free trade agreement with the United States. In March 2021, the United States suspended our bilateral Trade and Investment Framework Agreement in response to the coup. 

Through its membership in ASEAN, Burma is also a party to the ASEAN Comprehensive Investment Agreement, as well as to the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Agreement, the ASEAN-Korea Free Trade Agreement, and the ASEAN-China Free Trade Agreement, all of which contain an investment chapter that provides protection standards to qualifying foreign investors. 

Burma also has border trade agreements with Bangladesh, India, China, Laos, and Thailand. 

Burma does not have a bilateral taxation treaty with the United States. 

Burma has Avoidance of Double Taxation Agreements with the United Kingdom, Singapore, India, Malaysia, Vietnam, and South Korea. 

The Tax Administrative Law (TAL) went into effect on October 1, 2019. This tax law provides guidance on administrative procedures on the following tax laws: the Income Tax Law; the Commercial Tax Law; the Special Goods Tax Law; and any other taxes deemed as such by the Internal Revenue Department. The law includes an advanced ruling system, an anti-avoidance provision, and the imposition of interest on unpaid or overpaid taxes. The TAL also clarified certain provisions under the existing tax laws with respect to tax filing and payment procedures, maintenance of documents, re-assessment of tax returns, changes to the appeal process, and the imposition of penalties. For more information, visit Investment Climate Statements for Burma.