Mexico - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements
Last published date:

For U.S. exporters, Mexico’s trade liberalization efforts mean that the Mexican market is one of the most open and competitive in the world.

The United States, Mexico, and Canada are parties to the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA), which entered into force on July 1, 2020, replacing the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). Qualifying goods and services that had zero tariffs under NAFTA will remain at zero under USMCA. For additional information on tariffs, see the Trade Barriers section of this guide and/or visit the FTA Tariff Tool and the FTA Resources Toolbox on our FTA Help Center.

USMCA is a 21st century, high-standard trade agreement, supporting mutually beneficial trade resulting in freer markets, fairer trade, and more robust economic growth in North America. The Agreement modernizes and rebalances U.S. trade relations with Mexico and Canada and reduces incentives to outsource by providing strong labor and environmental protections, innovative rules of origin, and revised investment provisions. The Agreement includes important commitments on customs inspections, automation, and the treatment of low-value goods. Additionally, the USMCA establishes the strongest and most advanced provisions on intellectual property and digital trade ever included in a trade agreement, while also bringing labor and environment obligations into the core text of the agreement and making them fully enforceable.

For information on FTA partner countries, including how to take advantage of a FTA, please link to the FTA Help Center. For more information, please visit the Office of United States Trade Representative (USTR) website and the International Trade Administration’s USMCA landing page.

Mexico is a member of the World Trade Organization (WTO), the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC), the Group of 20 (G20), and the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Mexico has 13 Free Trade Agreements (FTAs) with 50 countries —including USMCA and FTAs with the European Union, European Free Trade Area, Japan, Israel, 10 countries in Latin America, and the 11-country Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership. Mexico is also a member of the Pacific Alliance, a trade bloc formed in 2011 by Mexico, Chile, Colombia, and Peru.