Benin - Country Commercial Guide
Import Tariffs
Last published date:

Benin is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) which includes Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea (Conakry), Ghana, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.  As of January 2015 ECOWAS started the implementation of the “Tarif Exterieur Commun” (a Common External Tariff - CET).  The standardized tariff applied to imported goods for ECOWAS member states comprising duties and taxes ranges from zero to 35% depending on the nature and the origin of the imported goods.  CET is designed to protect industries in ECOWAS member states from dumping and unfair competition.  A Valued Added Tax (VAT) of 18% is levied in Benin on all activities except salaries and agriculture-related activities, and customs duties are due on imported goods at the importation point of entry.  The VAT is refundable to sellers and importers that claim it at the end of the fiscal year.

Further information on customs procedures in Benin may be obtained on the Ministry of Economy and Finance, and Benin Customs websites at  and