Senegal - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements
Last published date:

Senegal is a member of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), which includes 15 countries in West Africa, the WAEMU or UEMOA, the Cotonou Convention and the World Trade Organization.  Senegal is also currently eligible for U.S. market access benefits under the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA) set to expire in 2025.

On May 30, 2020, the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) agreement officially entered into force with Senegal as member state, though much work remains to be done.   Its architects hope to encourage inter-African trade by eliminating complex and disjointed trade agreements and reducing tariffs.

Negotiations continue toward an Economic Partnership Agreement between the European Union and several West African countries, including Senegal.  More information may be found here: