Argentina - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements

Describes trade agreements this country is a party to. Includes resources where U.S. companies can get information on how to take advantage of these agreements.

Last published date: 2020-11-09


Argentina is a founding member of the Association for Latin American Integration (ALADI-Asociación Latinoamericana de Integración), which was created in 1980 with the long-term goal of establishing a Latin American Common Market.  Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela are also founding members; Cuba attained full membership in 1999. Under the ALADI, member countries sign regional and bilateral agreements that allow partial trade liberalization that can then be extended to other members. Argentina has several regional, multilateral, and bilateral arrangements.


Argentina is a member of the Southern Common Market (MERCOSUR- Mercado Común del Sur), which entered into force in January 1991. MERCOSUR members include Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay. Venezuela is currently suspended from the block. Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Peru, and Surinam are associate members of the block.

MERCOSUR-Southern African Customs Union

In December 2000, the countries of MERCOSUR signed a framework agreement toward the creation of a free trade area between member countries and the Southern African Customs Union (Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, and Swaziland). In 2016, a preferential trade agreement entered into force.

MERCOSUR-European Union

After more than 20 years of negotiations, MERCOSUR and the European Union concluded a comprehensive trade agreement on June 2019. It represents the largest trade agreement the European Union has ever negotiated. Prior to entering into force, the agreement must be ratified by the European Parliament and the parliaments of individual MERCOSUR countries. With this agreement, MERCOSUR’s exports will receive preferential treatment upon entering the European block.

MERCOSUR–European Free Trade Association

In 2019, Mercosur signed a free trade agreement with the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) comprised of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. The agreement implies a significant reduction and elimination of tariffs for agricultural and agro-industrial goods. EFTA also grants exclusive access quotas to Mercosur for meat, honey, rice, wine, and olive oil. The FTA is pending ratification by the Congress of each of the signature countries to enter in vigor.