Kyrgyz Republic - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements

Describes trade agreements this country is a party to. Includes resources where U.S. companies can get information on how to take advantage of these agreements.

Last published date: 2021-10-05

In April 1994, CIS member states (Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan) agreed to establish a free-trade zone.  According to the agreement, imports of goods produced within the CIS having respective certificates of origin are not subject to any customs or value-added taxes in the Kyrgyz Republic.  However, this exemption does not cover excise goods (such as alcohol and tobacco); furniture; video, television and computer equipment and any accessories to such electronic equipment.  Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic and Armenia have also signed a customs agreement.

In June 2004, the Kyrgyz Republic signed a Trade and Investment Framework Agreement (TIFA) with the United States, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.  The objective of the TIFA is to provide a forum for addressing trade issues and enhancing trade and investment between the United States and Central Asia.  The TIFA also provides a platform to address regional trade issues that hamper intra-regional trade, economic development and investment.  The TIFA creates a United States-Central Asia Council on Trade and Investment, which is designed to consider a wide range of issues that include, but are not limited to, intellectual property, labor, environmental issues and enhancing the participation of small- and medium-sized enterprises in trade and investment.

The Kyrgyz Republic has bilateral investment treaties with 31 countries,[1] including the United States, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, China, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, India, Indonesia, Iran, Kazakhstan, the Republic of Korea, Lithuania, Malaysia, Moldova, Mongolia, Pakistan, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, United Kingdom, Ukraine and Uzbekistan and others.

The Kyrgyz Republic has also signed double-taxation treaties with 27 countries[2] including Armenia, Austria, Belarus, Canada, China, Finland, Germany, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Malaysia, Moldova, Mongolia, Pakistan, Poland, Russia, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, Ukraine, and Uzbekistan.  The U.S.-U.S.S.R. treaty on double taxation, which was signed in 1973, remains in effect between the U.S. and the Kyrgyz Republic.

In August 2015, the Kyrgyz Republic formally joined the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU).  However, most of the technical regulations, including taxes, tariffs, inspections, and standards, are still in the process of improvement, bilateral and miltilateral negotiations among the member-states, as well as implementation of agreements, regulations and other requirements.  Several aspects of the agreement, including levels of taxation on various goods, have not been fully decided.