Guyana - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements
Last published date:

Guyana is a member of the CARICOM.  Goods traded with fellow CARICOM countries are duty free if they satisfy origin rules laid out in the Treaty of Chaguaramas.

As a signatory to the Summit of the Americas, Guyana agreed in principle to the establishment of a Free Trade Area of the Americas.  Guyana enjoys preferential market access to the United States under the Caribbean Basin Trade Partnership Act (CBTPA), an expansion of the 1983 Caribbean Basin Initiative (CBI).  The CBTPA agreement provides for duty and quota free access for products manufactured in designated beneficiary countries.  CBTPA legislation was passed in the U.S. House of Representatives on September 23, 2020, allowing for the extension of CBTPA benefits through 2030.  Guyana also enjoys preferential market access to Canada under CaribCan.

The CARIFORUM Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA), of which Guyana is a member, grants all CARIFORUM goods, with a temporary exception for rice and sugar, duty-free and quota-free access to the European Union.  The CARIFORUM region is the first group among African, Caribbean, and Pacific countries to secure a comprehensive EPA with Europe that covers not just goods, but services, investment, and trade related issues.

Guyana has an Economic Partnership Agreement with the European Union (EU) and is a signatory to several bilateral trade agreements (e.g., the Guyana–Brazil Partial Scope Agreement, the Guyana–China Trade Agreement, and the Guyana-Venezuela Partial Scope Agreement). These agreements seek to enhance trade in traditional and non-traditional markets.

Guyana is also a signatory to several regional trade agreements (e.g.  CARICOM–Colombia Trade, Economic and Technical Cooperation Agreement, CARICOM–Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement, CARICOM–Cuba Free Trade Agreement, CARICOM–Dominican Republic Free Trade Agreement, and CARICOM–Venezuela Trade, Economic, and Technical Cooperation Agreement).