Chile - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements
Last published date:

Chile and the United States continue to share foreign policy goals throughout the region. In January 2010, Chile became the 31st member of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the first, and only, South American member at that time. Chile is also a member of the World Trade Organization (WTO) and the Cairns Group. The U.S.-Chile Free Trade Agreement (FTA) entered into force on January 1, 2004, and was fully implemented on January 1, 2015.

Chile has negotiated 33 trade agreements, covering 65 economies, representing 88 percent of the world’s GDP. These agreements include 20 FTAs, six Economic Association Agreements, five Economic Cooperation Agreements, a Partial Association Agreement with India, and a Commercial Protocol with the Pacific Alliance (Colombia, Perú and Mexico). The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP), which includes Australia, Brunei, Canada, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Perú, Singapore and Vietnam entered into force for Chile on February 21, 2023, and is the country’s most recent trade agreement.  Furthermore, Chile has been negotiating with the European Union on a free trade agreement that is expected to be ratified in 2024.

This network of trade agreements has significantly improved market access for Chilean products and exports. According to the Chilean Vice Ministry for International Economic Relations (Subrei), Chile’s total exports in 2022 increased by three percent, reaching a total of $97.5 billion. Over 95 percent of exports went to countries with which Chile has free trade agreements. Chile’s main export markets in 2022 were China (39.4%) the United States (13.9%) Japan (7.6%), and South Korea (6.2%).

Free Trade Agreements

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Hong Kong
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • United States
  • Uruguay
  • Vietnam
  • Central America – Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua
  • European Free Trade Association – Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland

Economic Association Agreements

European UnionIndonesiaJapanUnited KingdomDigital Economy Partnership Agreement (DEPA) – New Zealand, SingaporeTrans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership (P-4) – New Zealand, Singapore, Brunei Darussalam

Economic Cooperation Agreements

  • Bolivia
  • Cuba
  • Ecuador
  • Venezuela
  • Mercosur – Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Venezuela

For information on FTA partner countries, including how to take advantage of an FTA, please link to the FTA Help Center.