Zimbabwe - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements
Last published date:

Zimbabwe is a member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), a 16-member country group that claims to seek greater economic and trade cooperation and eventual regional economic integration.  Zimbabwe also belongs to the 22-nation Preferential Trade Area (PTA) of Eastern and Southern Africa, which allows reduced duties on imports from member countries subject to certain rules of origin.  Zimbabwe has bilateral trade agreements with Namibia, Botswana, and South Africa.  Zimbabwe also signed the interim Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) under the Eastern and Southern African (ESA) bloc with the European Commission in 2009.  The EPA offers duty-free and quota-free market access to all exports from ESA countries who are signatories to the EPA.  In addition, Zimbabwe officially joined the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) in February 2020 which aims to create a single continental market for goods and services, eventually leading to the establishment of a Customs Union.