Bolivia - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements
Last published date:

Bolivia is a member of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) and of the WTO.  Bolivia is also a member of the Andean Community (CAN) along with Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru.  The CAN agreement has significantly reduced most internal trade barriers between these countries.  Along with Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru, Bolivia is an associate member of the Common Market of the South (MERCOSUR), with full incorporation pending.  The full MERCOSUR members include Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Venezuela, and Uruguay.  MERCOSUR has virtually eliminated tariff and non-tariff barriers on most intra-regional trade between members via a Common External Tariff (CET) system.  Associate members enjoy tariff reductions but are not subject to the CET system. Bolivia has had a “complementary agreement” with Chile (ACE 22), Panama, Cuba, and with Mexico (ACE).  These agreements eliminate or reduce tariffs on explicit lists of products.  Bolivia is also a member of the April 2006 “Peoples’ Trade Agreement” (ALBA), founded by Cuba and Venezuela.  Through this agreement, member countries give each other preferential treatment in specific sectors.  Little trade has occurred under ALBA, due in part to bureaucratic obstacles.  The European Union, Japan, Switzerland, Russia, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Norway, and the United States have in the past allowed many Bolivian exports to enter duty-free or at reduced duty rates under the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP).  The U.S. GSP program is expired and currently under review for renewal in Congress.