Indonesia - Country Commercial Guide
Temporary Entry

Discusses requirements for products entering the country/economy temporarily. Includes information on warranty and non-warranty items shipped for repairs.

Last published date: 2020-10-11

The Government of Indonesia encourages foreign investors who export to locate their operations in bonded or export processing zones (EPZ). There are several bonded zones or export processing zones near Jakarta such as Tanjung Priok, Cakung and Marunda, which are very close to international ports and international harbors. Products can be imported into a bonded zone and re-exported without paying tariffs, unless the products are sent into Indonesian customs area.

Foreign and domestic investors wishing to establish projects in a bonded area near Jakarta can contact PT Kawasan Berikat Nusantara (Persero), which is a state-owned company, detailed information is available at Kawasan Berikat (Bonded Zone) is an area with certain boundaries in Indonesia where special provisions for the customs apply to goods imported from outside the custom area or from other customs areas in Indonesia without first being subject to customs levies and/or state levies until the goods are issued for the purpose of import, export, re-export.

Favorable regulations for Special Economic Zones (SEZ) or (Kawasan Ekonomi Khusus, or KEK, in Indonesian) were introduced in 2009.  The basic concept of Indonesian SEZ is the preparation of infrastructure and resources in areas which have accessibility to the global market (access to seaports and/or airports). Indonesian SEZ may meet the criteria for one or more of the following zone types: Export, Logistics, Technology Development, Industry, Tourism, Energy and Other Economy.


There are a number of SEZ in Indonesia:

1.      Sei Mangkei SEZ in North Sumatra

2.      Tanjung Lesung SEZ in Banten

3.      Palu SEZ in Central Sulawesi

4.      Bitung SEZ in North Sulawesi

5.      Tanjung Api-Api SEZ in South Sumatera

6.      Morotai SEZ in North Maluku

7.      Maloy Batuta Trans Kalimantan SEZ in East Kalimantan

8.      Tanjung Kelayang SEZ in Bangka Belitung

9.      Sorong SEZ in West Papua

10.    Hang Nadim and Nongsa SEZ in Batam (expected in late 2020)

To learn more about Special Economic Zones, please visit