Zambia - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements
Last published date:

Zambia belongs to the 21-member Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), which allows for preferential tariff duties among member states.  Zambia also belongs to the 16-member Southern African Development Community (SADC), which established an FTA in 2008.  The establishment of a single market through the merged Tripartite Free Trade Area (COMESA, the East African Community [EAC], and SADC) was formally launched in June 2015.  Zambia deposited the instruments of ratification for the African Tripartite Free Trade Area Agreement with COMESA on January 15, 2021. Zambia is a signatory to the African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA)- signed 10th February 2019 and deposited instruments of ratification on 5th February 2021.  The AfCFTA has begun implementation of various protocols for trade in goods and services and it is expected that once fully implemented, the agreement will enable free movement of goods, services and business persons.  Zambia is a signatory to the Africa Continental Free Trade Agreement, but has not finalized its participation in the agreement, noting in February 2022 that it would request more time to consult with the private sector before committing. June 2022,54 out of 55 African countries have signed the AfCFTA and 43 countries have ratified the agreement.

Zambia has duty-free and quota-free access to the EU market, under the “Everything but Arms” (EBA) program for the world’s Least-Developed Countries (LDCs).  Zambia is also eligible for trade benefits under the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA), which provides duty-free/quota-free access to the U.S. market for most goods, including textiles and apparel.