New Zealand - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements

Describes trade agreements this country is a party to. Includes resources where U.S. companies can get information on how to take advantage of these agreements.

Last published date: 2022-07-31

New Zealand does not have a Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with the United States.  By 2030, New Zealand aims to have FTA arrangements to cover 90 percent of NZ goods exports.  New Zealand has successfully concluded free trade agreements with 16 WTO members including:

  • Since 1983, New Zealand and Australia have traded through a Closer Economic Relationship (CER), which is a free trade agreement eliminating all tariffs between the two countries.  The rules of origin under the CER do not, however, permit products to enter Australia duty free from New Zealand unless the products are of at least 50 percent New Zealand origin.  Additionally, the last manufacturing process must be carried out in New Zealand.
  • New Zealand concluded a Closer Economic Partnership (CEP) agreement with Singapore that entered into force on January 1, 2001. 
  • New Zealand concluded a concluded a CEP agreement with Thailand that entered into force on July 1, 2005. 
  • New Zealand concluded an FTA with China that entered into force on October 1, 2008. 
  • New Zealand and Malaysia signed an FTA October 26, 2009 which entered into force in January 2016. 
  • New Zealand concluded a CEP with Hong Kong, which entered into force on January 1, 2011.
  • New Zealand concluded a FTA with Korea in 2014 and the FTA entered into force on 20 December 2015.
  • New Zealand signed a FTA involving 11 countries in the Asia-Pacific region, including Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam called the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP).
  • New Zealand has negotiated a FTA with the United Kingdom and anticipates to ratify the document in 2022.
  • New Zealand continues to negotiate other FTA’s including with the E.U.