Dominican Republic - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements

Describes trade agreements this country is a party to. Includes resources where U.S. companies can get information on how to take advantage of these agreements.

Last published date: 2021-08-24

CAFTA-DR On September 6, 2005, the Dominican Congress ratified the United States-Dominican Republic-Central America Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA-DR).  Entry into force occurred on March 1, 2007.  More information on CAFTA-DR is found in earlier chapters of this document.

Other trade agreements in force:

The Dominican Republic has Multilateral Agreements with WTO members; free trade agreements with CARICOM, CARIFORUM - European Community, and Central America; a Preferential Trade Agreement with Panama; and Bilateral Investment Treaties with Chile, Finland, France, Italy, Korea, Morocco, Netherlands, Panama, Taiwan, Spain, Switzerland, and.  However, these do not provide the level of protection to investors generally offered by U.S. bilateral investment treaties.