Qatar - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Financing

It covers payment methods and information on, banking systems, foreign exchange controls, and U.S. and correspondent banking.

Last published date: 2020-11-17


A total of 108 banks operate in Qatar, including 101 Qatari institutions and seven foreign bank branches.  Out of the 101 Qatari banks, seven are commercial institutions (Ahlibank, Al Khaliji Bank, Commercial Bank of Qatar, Doha Bank, International Bank of Qatar, Qatar Development Bank, and Qatar National Bank); the other four are Islamic banking institutions (Masraf Al Rayan, Qatar International Islamic Bank, Qatar Islamic Bank, and Barwa Bank).  In 2019, International Bank of Qatar merged with Barwa Bank in the country’s first bank consolidation.  The seven foreign banks regulated by Qatar Central Bank include: Arab Bank, Bank Saderat Iran, BNP Paribas, HSBC, Mashreq Bank, Standard Chartered and United Bank. Qatar National Bank represents 50% of the local banking market.  It should be noted that while there is no restriction on the flow of capital, tightened liquidity within the local banking market exists.  Bank loans are based on market terms with priority given to local organizations for the purpose of public development projects.

Qatari Banks

  • Al Ahli Bank of Qatar
  • Al Khaliji Bank
  • Barwa Bank
  • Commercial Bank of Qatar
  • Doha Bank
  • Masraf Al Rayan
  • Qatar Development Bank
  • Qatar International Islamic Bank
  • Qatar Islamic Bank
  • Qatar National Bank

Foreign Banks with Branches

  • Arab Bank
  • Bank Saderat Iran 
  • B.N.P. Paribas
  • HSBC
  • Mashreq Bank
  • Standard Chartered Bank
  • United Bank

For information about the methods of payment or other trade finance options, please read the Trade Finance Guide available at