Qatar - Country Commercial Guide
Trade Agreements

Describes trade agreements this country is a party to. Includes resources where U.S. companies can get information on how to take advantage of these agreements.

Last published date: 2022-01-30

To ease trade and investment restrictions, Qatar signed 59 bilateral investment treaties (BITs) including with Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium-Luxembourg Economic Union, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Egypt, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Indonesia, Iran, Italy, Jordan, Montenegro, Morocco, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, and Turkey.

Qatar is a strong supporter of regional integration and has ties with several Arab League member states.  As a member of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), Qatar has implemented the GCC Common Customs Law of 2002 and follows the GCC unified customs tariff of 5% imposed since 2003 to facilitate the movement of foreign goods within the bloc.  Per the GCC Common Market and Economic Nationality Agreement of 1981 and subsequent regulations of 1987 and 1990, GCC nationals are free to move, work, reside, invest, and carry out retail and wholesale trade in Qatar, as everywhere else in the bloc. Implementation of these common agreements were reportedly interrupted during the rift between Qatar and three GCC members, from June 2017 to January 2021.  Now that the rift is over, free movement of people and goods among all GCC members has resumed.