Logo Logo
facebook twitter tra email

Advisory Committee on Supply Chain Competitiveness

About the Committee:

The Advisory Committee on Supply Chain Competitiveness (Committee) was established in November 2011, in accordance with 15 U.S.C. 1512 and the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), as amended, 5 U.S.C., App., and with the concurrence of the General Services Administration.  The Committee has met five times including its inaugural meeting in October 2012, and was rechartered for a second two-year term in November 2013. 

The Committee was created to advise the Secretary on the necessary elements of a comprehensive policy approach to supply chain competitiveness designed to support U.S. export growth and national economic competitiveness, encourage innovation, facilitate the movement of goods, and improve the competitiveness of U.S. supply chains for goods and services in the domestic and global economy; and to provide advice to the Secretary on regulatory policies and programs and investment priorities that affect the competitiveness of U.S. supply chains.  This Committee is providing detailed policy and technical advice, information, and recommendations to the Secretary regarding:

  • national, state, or local factors in trade programs and policies that affect the efficient domestic and international operation and competitiveness of U.S. global supply chains from point of origin to destination;
  • elements of national policies affecting the movement of goods, infrastructure, investment, and regulatory factors that affect supply chain competitiveness and sustainability; and
  • information and data systems to generate metrics that can be used to quantify and improve supply chain performance.

The committee has a maximum of forty (45) private sector members with a balanced and broad range of interests, including representatives from supply chain firms or their associations, stakeholders, community organizations, and others directly affected by the supply chain, as well as experts from academia.  In addition, the Secretary of Transportation and the Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) (or their respective designees) serve on the Committee as ex officio, non-voting members.  Private sector members are appointed for terms of two years by the Secretary of Commerce, in consultation with the Department of Transportation, EPA, and other agencies, as appropriate.

The Committee has established subcommittees to further explore specific areas of interest.  The current subcommittees are:

  • Trade and Regulatory Subcommittee
  • Freight Policy and Movement Subcommittee
  • Information Technology and Data Subcommittee
  • Finance and Infrastructure Subcommittee
  • Workforce Development Subcommittee


The International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce, manages this global trade site to provide access to ITA information on promoting trade and investment, strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. industry, and ensuring fair trade and compliance with trade laws and agreements. External links to other Internet sites should not be construed as an endorsement of the views or privacy policies contained therein. This site contains PDF documents. A PDF reader is available from Adobe Systems Incorporated.