Multilateral Development Banks

The multilateral development banks are major sources of financing for infrastructure projects overseas. American firms may inquire about procurement opportunities by contacting the US Department staff at the individual banks or by contacting the banks directly.

The African Development Bank (AfDB)

AfDB is a multinational development bank supported by 77 nations (member countries) from Africa, North and South America, Europe and Asia. Headquartered in Abidjan, Cote d' Ivoire, the Bank Group consists of three institutions: the African Development Bank, African Development Fund (ADF), the Nigeria Trust Fund (NTF).

US Department of Commerce Contact Information:

The Asian Development Bank (ADB)

ADB was founded in 1966 by 31 member governments to promote the social and economic progress of the Asian and Pacific region. Over the past 31 years, the Bank's membership has grown to 57, of which 41 are from within the region and 16 from outside the region. The Bank gives special attention to the needs of the smaller or less-developed countries and priority to regional, sub-regional, and national projects and programs.

US Department of Commerce Contact Information:

The European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)

EBRD was established in 1991 and was created to foster the transition towards open market-oriented economies and to promote private and entrepreneurial initiative in the countries of central and eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) committed to and applying the principles of multiparty democracy, pluralism and market economics.

US Department of Commerce Contact Information:

The Inter-American Development Bank (IADB)

IADB is the oldest and largest regional multilateral development institution and was established in December of 1959 to help accelerate economic and social development in Latin America and the Caribbean.

US Department of Commerce Contact Information:

The World Bank Group,

Founded in 1944, The World Bank group supports a broad range of programs aimed at reducing poverty and improving living standards in the developing world through its loans, policy advice and technical assistance. Effective poverty reduction strategies and poverty-focused lending are central to achieving these objectives. Bank programs give high priority to sustainable, social and human development and strengthened economic management, with a growing emphasis on inclusion, governance and institution-building.

The World Bank Group consists of five closely associated institutions:


The IBRD provides loans and development assistance to middle-income countries and creditworthy poorer countries. Voting power is linked to members' capital subscriptions, which in turn are based on each country's relative economic strength. The IBRD obtains most of its funds through the sale of bonds in international capital markets.


The IDA plays a key role in supporting the Bank's poverty reduction mission. IDA assistance is focused on the poorest countries, to which it provides interest-free loans and other services. IDA depends on contributions from its wealthier member countries-including some developing countries-for most of its financial resources.


The IFC promotes growth in the developing world by financing private sector investments and providing technical assistance and advice to governments and businesses. In partnership with private investors, IFC provides both loan and equity finance for business ventures in developing countries.


MIGA helps encourage foreign investment in developing countries by providing guarantees to foreign investors against loss caused by non-commercial risks. MIGA also provides technical assistance to help countries disseminate information on investment opportunities.


The ICSID provides facilities for the settlement - by conciliation or arbitration - of investment disputes between foreign investors and their host countries.

U.S. Department of Commerce Contact Information: