## U.S. Department of Commerce Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) Sixth Charter, 2020-2022 Meeting #9 May 24, 2022 Meeting Minutes

The ninth meeting of the sixth charter of the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) was held from 10:00 AM to 3:30 PM Eastern Time as a hybrid meeting, in person at the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) headquarters in Arlington, Virginia and virtually via WebEx.

Designated Federal Officer (DFO) Cora Dickson opened the meeting with announcements. Next, each of the subcommittee chairs provided wrap-up remarks about their accomplishments during Charter 6. The Chair also discussed the committee's input to and comments on a draft letter intended to be passed along to REEEAC 7.

The REEEAC meeting then focused on the twelve recommendations of Charter 6, grouped by themes, with a presentation given by a REEEAC member in each session. Various government officials from Commerce and TPCC agencies attended to be briefed about the recommendations, and given the opportunity to ask questions or provide feedback.

Session 1: Increasing Collaboration between USDA/FAS and DOC/ITA on Clean Energy Sector

- Recommendations 3, 7, and 12
- Agencies Participating: Department of Commerce (DOC) and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)

Session 2: Enhancing Financial Tools for Clean Energy Exporters

- Recommendations 6 and 10
- Agencies Participating: Treasury, Export-Import Bank, U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)

Session 3: Trade Promotion and Market Access for New Clean Energy Sectors

- Recommendations 5 and 9
- Agencies Participating: DOC, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), Treasury, USAID, U.S. Trade and Development Agency (USTDA)

Session 4: Strengthening Clean Energy Supply Chains

- Recommendations 1, 2, 8, and 11
- Agencies Participating: DOC, DOE

Finally, the REEEAC members conducted a briefing on all twelve recommendations for Marisa Lago, Undersecretary for International Trade, who was the highest ranking Commerce official to attend the meeting due to the Secretary and Deputy Secretary being unavailable. The briefing emphasized Recommendation #4, which was a package of 19 recommendations submitted to the Department of Commerce in response to its request for input on a potential "U.S. Clean Technologies Export Competitiveness Strategy (CTECS)." On behalf of the Secretary, Undersecretary Lago thanked the REEEAC members for producing 12 extremely thoughtful and impactful recommendations, and expressed gratitude for their service. She also informed the committee that Secretary Raimondo approved the rechartering of the REEEAC, with recruitment expected to begin over the summer for the 2022-2024 Charter.

The meeting was then opened to comments from the public, but there were none.

The meeting concluded at 3:30 pm Eastern Time.

## Attendees

Department of Commerce:

- Marisa Lago, Under Secretary for International Trade
- Grant Harris, Assistant Secretary for Industry & Analysis, ITA
- Monica Gorman, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing, ITA
- Jaclyn Porfilio, Senior Advisor to the Secretary, Department of Commerce
- Adam O'Malley, Director, Office of Energy and Environmental Industries (OEEI), ITA
- Man Cho, Deputy Director, OEEI
- Cora Dickson, Designated Federal Officer (DFO) for the REEEAC and Senior Renewable Energy Specialist, OEEI
- Christian Herman, Secondary DFO for the REEEAC and International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Anne Ahrendsen, International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Andrew Moyseowicz, International Trade Specialist, OEEI

Other U.S. Government Agencies:

- Allison Thomas, Managing Director for Trade Policy and Geographic Affairs, Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
- Emily Marthaler, International Trade Specialist, Trade Policy and Geographic Affairs, FAS, USDA
- Victoria Gunderson, Director, Office of Climate and Environment, Treasury
- Lida Fitts, Director, Office of Sustainable Infrastructure, Treasury
- Craig O'Connor, Renewable Energy & Environmental Exports Officer, Project Finance
  Division, Export-Import Bank
- Gillian Caldwell, Chief Climate Officer, US Agency for International Development (USAID)
- Julie Cerqueira, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, International Affairs, Department of Energy (DOE)
- Mirea Lyndon-Grotz, Director, Trade and Investment Policy Office, Treasury
- Samuel Browne, International Affairs, DOE
- Gillian Caldwell, Chief Climate Officer, USAID
- Anna Coby, Clean Energy Sector Team, U.S. Trade and Development Agency (USTDA)
- Jillian Foerster, Clean Energy Sector Team, USTDA
- David Howell, Office of Manufacturing and Energy Supply Chains, DOE
- Tsisi Igogo, Lead Supply Chain Coordinator, Office of Policy, DOE

Advisory Committee Members Present:

- Ms. Gaelle Burkhart, Director of Global Stakeholder Relations, AES Corporation
- Mr. Rahul Chopra, Managing Partner, AGE Capital
- Ms. Johanna Jochum, Counsel, American Clean Power Association
- Dr. Russell Read, Group Managing Partner, C-Change Group
- Mr. Terry Fry, Senior Vice President of Energy Services, Cadmus
- Mr. Jeremy Harrell, Managing Director of Policy, ClearPath
- Mr. Bruce Colburn, Executive Vice President and Co-Founder, EPS Capital
- Ms. Cynthia Thyfault, Founder and CEO, Global BioFuture Solutions
- Mr. Phillip Green, President and CEO, Green Powered Technology
- Mr. Gary Rackliffe, Vice President, Market Development and Innovation North America, Hitachi ABB Power Grids
- Mr. Brad Gammons, CEO, irth Solutions
- Mr. Bruce Lisle, Director, Strategic Initiatives, Lignetics
- Mr. Amir Eftekhari, Senior Director, International Relations, Jacobs
- Ms. Ramya Swaminathan, CEO, Malta
- Mr. Carl Fleming, Partner, McDermott, Will and Emery LLP
- Mr. Paul Mutchler, Director of Commercial Operations, Mission Solar Energy
- Mr. Alexander Boesenberg, Director, Regulatory Affairs, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
- Mr. William Pott, Government Services Project Manager, POWER Engineers
- Ms. Kelly Davis, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Renewable Fuels Association
- Mr. Kwabena Osei-Sarpong, President and CEO, RIFE International
- Mr. Kenneth Kramer, Managing Director, Rushton Atlantic
- Mr. Matt Card, President and Chief Operating Officer, Suniva
- Mr. Joseph Mendelson, Senior Counsel of Public Policy and Business Development, Tesla
- Mr. Jorge Sanchez, Founder and CEO, THOR Energy
- Mr. Mark Higgins, Managing Director, Tiger Power Ventures
- Mr. Ravinda Vora, CEO, Transventure Energy
- Mr. Terence Dittrich, President, TWD Global Enterprises
- Mr. Brian Healy, Director of Global Ethanol Market Development, U.S. Grains Council
- Mr. William Taylor III, Co-Founder and Chief Commercial Officer, Verdant Power
- Mr. Steffen Shelley, Vice President of Energy and Renewables, VLO Offshore

## Advisory Committee Members Absent:

• Mr. Sean Tilly, Global Technology Portfolio Manager, Black & Veatch

## Registered Members of the Public:

- Mr. Daniel Kopshever, City of Oroville, CA
- Mr. Brian Kelly, The United Association of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry
- Ms. Dixie Downing, USITC
- Ms. Jessica Karin, Inside US Trade
- Ms. Rachel Rawlins, RSM US LLP
- Ms. Vanessa Sciarra, American Clean Power Association