U.S. Department of Commerce Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) Sixth Charter, 2020-2022 Meeting #7 March 31, 2022

The seventh meeting of the sixth charter of the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEAC) was held virtually via WebEx from 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM Eastern Time.

Meeting Minutes

Designated Federal Officer (DFO) Cora Dickson opened the meeting with announcements. She reminded the committee of the upcoming meetings and encouraged the committee to continue using the Sharepoint site for collaboration. She mentioned that the last meeting of the charter, May 24, might be a hybrid meeting, if a meeting space could be secured with the necessary technology.

The REEEAC Chair, Mark Higgins, called upon each of the subcommittee chairs to provide updates on their respective deliberations and drafting of recommendations. He noted that the current charter of the REEEAC had produced nine recommendations, and as the charter would be wrapping up in May, encouraged them to develop a few more before the final meeting in May. It was decided that an intersessional meeting would be held to approve the final recommendations in order to ensure the success of the last meeting, at which the REEEAC members would make presentations to various U.S. government agencies about their recommendations.

The Chair introduced the guest speaker, Marcos Gonzales Harsh, Principal Deputy Director, Office of Technology Transitions, U.S. Department of Energy. He gave a presentation on "Implementation of Clean Energy-Related Programs funded by the Bipartisan Infrastructure Act." After concluding his presentation, he answered several questions from committee members. Afterwards, the committee took a brief recess.

After reconvening, the committee held a brainstorming session to provide input to the Chair for a letter to the next REEEAC charter, a tradition that had been upheld for the past few charters. The DFO explained that typically the letter would include Guidance on Principles for Potential Consideration/Action for Charter 7 (What advice would you give the next committee? / General priorities, objectives, goals / Continuity of themes) and Outstanding Business for Charter 7 to Address (Recommendations that this REEEAC wanted to pursue but did not have time/ New areas or deeper dives). The Chair said he would draft a letter to be discussed at the intersessional meeting.

The meeting was then opened to comments from the public, but there were none.

The meeting concluded at 3:50pm Eastern Time.

<u>Attendees</u>

Department of Commerce:

- Cora Dickson, Designated Federal Officer (DFO) for the REEEAC and Senior Renewable Energy Specialist, OEEI
- Christian Herman, Secondary DFO for the REEEAC and International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Devin Horne, International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Andrew Moyseowicz, International Trade Specialist, OEEI

Advisory Committee Members Present:

- Mr. Rahul Chopra, Managing Partner, AGE Capital
- Ms. Johanna Jochum, Counsel, American Clean Power Association
- Mr. Sean Tilly, Global Technology Portfolio Manager, Black & Veatch
- Dr. Russell Read, Group Managing Partner, C-Change Group
- Mr. Jeremy Harrell, Managing Director of Policy, ClearPath
- Mr. Bruce Colburn, Executive Vice President and Co-Founder, EPS Capital
- Ms. Cynthia Thyfault, Founder and CEO, Global BioFuture Solutions
- Mr. Phillip Green, President and CEO, Green Powered Technology
- Mr. Gary Rackliffe, Vice President, Market Development and Innovation North America, Hitachi ABB Power Grids
- Mr. Bruce Lisle, Director, Strategic Initiatives, Lignetics
- Mr. Amir Eftekhari, Senior Director, International Relations, Jacobs
- Mr. Carl Fleming, Partner, McDermott, Will and Emery LLP
- Mr. Alexander Boesenberg, Director, Regulatory Affairs, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
- Mr. William Pott, Government Services Project Manager, POWER Engineers
- Ms. Kelly Davis, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Renewable Fuels Association
- Mr. Kwabena Osei-Sarpong, President and CEO, RIFE International
- Mr. Kenneth Kramer, Managing Director, Rushton Atlantic
- Mr. Matt Card, President and Chief Operating Officer, Suniva
- Mr. Joseph Mendelson, Senior Counsel of Public Policy and Business Development, Tesla
- Mr. Jorge Sanchez, Founder and CEO, THOR Energy
- Mr. Mark Higgins, Managing Director, Tiger Power Ventures
- Mr. Brian Healy, Director of Global Ethanol Market Development, U.S. Grains Council
- Mr. William Taylor III, Co-Founder and Chief Commercial Officer, Verdant Power
- Mr. Steffen Shelley, Vice President of Energy and Renewables, VLO Offshore

Advisory Committee Members Absent:

- Ms. Gaelle Burkhart, Director of Global Stakeholder Relations, AES Corporation
- Mr. Terry Fry, Senior Vice President of Energy Services, Cadmus
- Mr. Brad Gammons, CEO, irth Solutions

- Ms. Ramya Swaminathan, CEO, Malta
- Mr. Paul Mutchler, Director of Commercial Operations, Mission Solar Energy
- Mr. Ravinda Vora, CEO, Transventure Energy
- Mr. Terence Dittrich, President, TWD Global Enterprises

Registered Members of the Public:

- Ms. Margaret Spiegelman, Inside US Trade
- Ms. Vanessa Sciarra, American Clean Power Association
- Ms. Mary Sabuda, American Chemical Society
- Mr. George Lynch, Idaho Governor's Office of Energy and Mineral Resources
- Mr. Joshua Boswell, REACH
- Mr. Dustin Dibble, POET
- Mr. Kyle Glasgow, POET
- Ms. Samantha Sloan, First Solar
- Mr. Tedros Abraham, Hanwha Q CELLS USA
- Mr. Alexandra Krus, Montana Renewables
- Ms. Kelli Curran, Curran Renewable Energy