# U.S. Department of Commerce Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) Sixth Charter, 2020-2022 Meeting #6 February 17, 2022 Meeting Minutes

The sixth meeting of the sixth charter of the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEAC) was held virtually via WebEx from 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM EST.

Designated Federal Officer (DFO) Cora Dickson opened the meeting with announcements. She reminded the committee of the upcoming meetings, mentioned the ongoing work on the SharePoint site, and reviewed the committee's voting protocols.

Ms. Dickson then introduced Chief Climate Officer Jake Levine of the International Development Finance Corporation (DFC). Mr. Levine presented an overview of the DFC's mission and elaborated on several deals that the DFC has executed related to decarbonization and sustainability. He highlighted a recent announcement that the DFC would provide debt financing to First Solar for their manufacturing facility in India, one of the countries with high levels of carbon emissions. After concluding his presentation, he answered several questions from committee members. Afterwards, the committee took a brief recess.

The committee then reviewed the subcommittee schedule and the subcommittee chairs presented updates on their work including the recommendations that they hoped to have ready for the following meeting. The Technology and Innovation subcommittee chair stated that they are focusing efforts on offshore wind. Ms. Dickson mentioned that the February 17 meeting would have offshore wind on the agenda with guest speakers from several U.S. government agencies.

In the Chair's absence, Vice Chair Brett Feldman then facilitated discussion on two recommendations up for approval. The first, brought to the REEEAC from the Trade Promotion and Market Access subcommittee, was related to educating the government about how to raise awareness in communities about virtual power plants. The second, brought to the REEEAC from the Global Decarbonization subcommittee, was focused on facilitating a just transition through increased lending in emerging markets. Both recommendations were approved without objections. The committee then took a short break.

After reconvening, Ian Lloyd and Sagatom Saha from the State Department provided an overview of outcomes from COP26. The committee members then asked several questions related to COP26 and bilateral climate commitments.

The meeting was then opened to comments from the public. Mujeeb Ijaz, the CEO of electric battery manufacturer Our Next Energy, gave an overview of his products and his concerns about various challenges for U.S. manufacturers to remain competitive in the sector.

The meeting concluded at 4:02 pm EST.

### Attendees

# Department of Commerce:

- Cora Dickson, Designated Federal Officer (DFO) for the REEEAC and Senior Renewable Energy Specialist, OEEI
- Devin Horne, Secondary DFO for the REEEAC and International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Christian Herman, International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Andrew Moyseowicz, International Trade Specialist, OEEI

### Advisory Committee Members Present:

- Ms. Gaelle Burkhart, Director of Global Stakeholder Relations, AES Corporation
- Ms. Johanna Jochum, Counsel, American Clean Power
- Mr. Sean Tilly, Global Technology Portfolio Manager, Black & Veatch
- Dr. Russell Read, Group Managing Partner, C-Change Group
- Mr. Jeremy Harrell, Managing Director of Policy, ClearPath
- Mr. Bruce Colburn, Executive Vice President and Co-Founder, EPS Capital
- Mr. Brett Feldman, Research Director, Guidehouse Insights
- Mr. Gary Rackliffe, Vice President, Market Development and Innovation North America, Hitachi ABB Power Grids
- Mr. Brad Gammons, CEO, Irth Solutions
- Mr. Amir Eftekhari, Senior Director, International Relations, Jacobs
- Ms. Ramya Swaminathan, CEO, Malta
- Mr. Carl Fleming, Partner, McDermott, Will and Emery LLP
- Mr. Paul Mutchler, Director of Commercial Operations, Mission Solar Energy
- Mr. Alexander Boesenberg, Director, Regulatory Affairs, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
- Mr. William Pott, Government Services Project Manager, POWER Engineers
- Ms. Kelly Davis, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Renewable Fuels Association
- Mr. Kwabena Osei-Sarpong, President and CEO, RIFE International
- Mr. Kenneth Kramer, Managing Director, Rushton Atlantic
- Mr. Matt Card, President and Chief Operating Officer, Suniva
- Mr. Joseph Mendelson, Senior Counsel of Public Policy and Business Development, Tesla
- Mr. Jorge Sanchez, Founder and CEO, THOR Energy
- Mr. Ravinda Vora, CEO, Transventure Energy
- Mr. Terence Dittrich, President, TWD Global Enterprises
- Mr. William Taylor III, Co-Founder and Chief Commercial Officer, Verdant Power
- Mr. Steffen Shelley, Vice President of Energy and Renewables, VLO Offshore

# Advisory Committee Members Absent:

- Mr. Rahul Chopra, Managing Partner, AGE Capital
- Mr. Terry Fry, Senior Vice President of Energy Services, Cadmus
- Ms. Cynthia Thyfault, Founder and CEO, Global BioFuture Solutions
- Mr. Phillip Green, President and CEO, Green Powered Technology
- Mr. Bruce Lisle, Director, Strategic Initiatives, Lignetics
- Mr. Mark Higgins, Managing Director, Tiger Power Ventures
- Mr. Brian Healy, Director of Global Ethanol Market Development, U.S. Grains Council

# Registered Members of the Public:

- Mr. Andrew David, USITC
- Mr. Daniel Kopshever, City of Oroville, CA
- Mr. George Lynch, Idaho Governor's Office of Energy and Mineral Resources
- Ms. Jessica Karins, Inside Washington Publishers
- Mr. Josh Mahan, Xylem
- Mr. Joshua Boswell, REACH
- Ms. Kat Lucero, MLex Market Insight
- Mr. Luke Reed, Weyerhaeuser Arcadia OSB
- Mr. Mark A Danaczko, Ocean Project Engineering Management, LLC
- Ms. Mary Sabuda, American Chemical Society
- Mr. Scott Seaman, International Business-Government Counsellors
- Ms. Shruti Shukla, Natural Resources Defense Council
- Mr. Trevor Falk, North America's Building Trades Unions
- Ms. Vanessa Sciarra, American Clean Power Association