# U.S. Department of Commerce Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) Sixth Charter, 2020-2022 Meeting #4 November 2, 2021 Meeting Minutes

The fourth meeting of the sixth charter of the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) was held virtually via WebEx from 2:30 PM to 3:30 PM.

Designated Federal Officer (DFO) Cora Dickson opened the meeting with announcements, including a review on the voting protocols. She reviewed the rules for amending a recommendation and the options available to members when voting on a recommendation.

Committee Chair Mark Higgins then introduced the recommendation up for consideration, which responds to the Department of Commerce's "Request for Information" (RFI) on the Clean Tech Competitiveness Export Strategy (CTECS) and consists of 19 separate sub-recommendations. Chairperson Higgins mentioned the disagreement among some members about the role of tariffs, and that the REEEAC must display a united front for the CTECS. Then committee member Cynthia Thyfault gave an overview presentation, mentioning the three components of the REEEAC submission: a letter to the Secretary, an executive summary, and the full response to the RFI plus appendices. The executive summary also touched on seven major themes that "currently positively and negatively impacting the ability of U.S. REEE industries to maximize exports and fully develop the domestic market for REEE technologies and services."

Chairperson Higgins then returned to the issue of tariffs, stating that the diverse composition of the REEEAC means that members will be impacted differently by tariffs. He raised the issue of foreign tariffs *vis-à-vis* domestic tariffs, and then opened the floor to comments from committee members. Several committee members offered suggestions. Committee member Matt Card proposed excluding domestic tariffs from the recommendation and postponing the discussion over domestic tariffs to a later date. The committee agreed to remove references to domestic tariffs.

After some additional questions and comments, the Committee decided they had reached consensus on the CTECS recommendation. The recommendation, the fourth from this charter, was approved with the proposed revisions.

The meeting was then opened to comments from the public. There was no public comment.

DFO Dickson reviewed the process of posting the recommendation to the trade.gov website. Given the delay in making the document ADA compliant, she agreed to share the final version with any interested parties.

The meeting adjourned at 3:27 PM.

## Attendees

### Department of Commerce:

- Cora Dickson, Designated Federal Officer (DFO) for the REEEAC and Senior Renewable Energy Specialist, OEEI
- Devin Horne, Secondary DFO for the REEEAC and International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Christian Herman, International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Andrew Moyseowicz, International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Frederick Richardson, Intern, OEEI

## Advisory Committee Members Present:

- Mr. Rahul Chopra, Managing Partner, AGE Capital
- Mr. Tyler Stoff, Director of Regulatory Affairs, American Council on Renewable Energy
- Mr. Sean Tilly, Global Technology Portfolio Manager, Black & Veatch
- Dr. Russell Read, Group Managing Partner, C-Change Group
- Mr. Jeremy Harrell, Managing Director of Policy, ClearPath
- Dr. Bruce K. Colburn, Executive Vice President and Co-Founder, EPS Capital
- Ms. Cynthia Thyfault, Founder and CEO, Global BioFuture Solutions
- Mr. Phillip Green, President and CEO, Green Powered Technology
- Mr. Brett Feldman, Research Director, Guidehouse Insights
- Mr. Gary Rackliffe, Vice President, Market Development and Innovation North America, Hitachi ABB Power Grids
- Mr. Brad Gammons, CEO, Irth Solutions
- Mr. Amir Eftekhari, Senior Director, International Relations, Jacobs
- Mr. Bruce Lisle, Director, Strategic Initiatives, Lignetics
- Mr. Carl Fleming, Partner, McDermott, Will and Emery LLP
- Mr. Paul Mutchler, Director of Commercial Operations, Mission Solar Energy
- Mr. Alexander Boesenberg, Director, Regulatory Affairs, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
- Mr. William Pott, Government Services Project Manager, POWER Engineers
- Ms. Kelly Davis, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Renewable Fuels Association
- Mr. Kwabena Osei-Sarpong, President and CEO, RIFE International
- Mr. Kenneth Kramer, Managing Director, Rushton Atlantic
- Mr. Matt Card, President and Chief Operating Officer, Suniva
- Mr. Joseph Mendelson, Senior Counsel of Public Policy and Business Development, Tesla
- Mr. Jorge Sanchez, Founder and CEO, THOR Energy
- Mr. Mark Higgins, Managing Director, Tiger Power Ventures
- Mr. Ravinda Vora, CEO, Transventure Energy

- Mr. Terence Dittrich, President, TWD Global Enterprises
- Mr. William Taylor III, Co-Founder and Chief Commercial Officer, Verdant Power
- Mr. Steffen Shelley, Vice President of Energy and Renewables, VLO Offshore

### Advisory Committee Members Absent:

- Ms. Gaelle Burkhart, Director of Global Stakeholder Relations, AES Corporation
- Mr. Terry Fry, Senior Vice President of Energy Services, Cadmus
- Mr. Brad Gammons, CEO, Irth Solutions
- Mr. Brian Healy, Director of Global Ethanol Market Development, U.S. Grains Council
- Ms. Johanna Jochum, Counsel, American Clean Power Association
- Mr. Gary Rackliffe, Vice President, Market Development and Innovation North America, Hitachi ABB Power Grids
- Ms. Ramya Swaminathan, CEO, Malta

#### Registered Members of the Public:

- Ms. Christine Turner, Boundary Stone Partners
- Ms. Karin Athanas, TIC Council--Americas
- Mr. Ludo Roche, Resilient Energy & Infrastructure
- Mr. Matthew Goitia, Pelorus Terminals LLC
- Ms. Margaret Spiegelman, Inside US Trade