U.S. Department of Commerce Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) Sixth Charter, 2020-2022 Meeting #3 October 14, 2021 Meeting Minutes

The third meeting of the sixth charter of the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) was held virtually via WebEx from 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM.

Designated Federal Officer (DFO) Cora Dickson opened the meeting with announcements, including a review of the four options available to committee members when considering the recommendations and an emphasis on consensus building. She noted that the next meeting would be held on November 2, and that the new Sharepoint site will become the committee's platform for collaboration. She then performed a brief walk-through of the site to give committee members familiarity with its features.

Ms. Dickson then introduced Ms. Carla Frisch, Principal Deputy Director, Office of Policy, U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), who made introductory remarks about Executive Order 14017 and the energy-sector supply chain review being conducted by the DOE. She presented slides showing the DOE points of contact for key areas of the supply chain review, and mentioned the alignment between shoring-up the supply chain and achieving climate goals. She then introduced the experts on the call, and asked for REEEAC members to share the key supply chain vulnerabilities that they have observed and what will be required to build resilience in the supply chain. Committee Chair Mark Higgins thanked Ms. Frisch and moderated the discussion as committee members offered their comments and asked questions of Ms. Frisch and the panel of DOE experts. After lively discussion, the committee took a ten-minute break.

Next, committee member Cynthia Thyfault reviewed the timeline for producing the Clean Tech Export Competitiveness Strategy (CTECS) recommendation and showed the Sharepoint folder where committee members can put any related resources. The committee members then went into their respective subcommittees, where they discussed the current draft for the CTECS recommendation, and possible revisions. The group sessions then concluded and each subcommittee shared the key points of their discussions. The subcommittee chairs also provided readouts of their work over the past two months.

Four recommendations were approved by the REEEAC subcommittees since the last meeting, and were under consideration for full REEEAC approval. Two recommendations were approved with slight modifications: "Impacts of Carbon Border Adjustments and Potential Mitigation through Expanding ENERGY STAR or Similar Certification Programs" and "Global Renewable Ethanol Market Development and Access: Encourage Commerce to Provide Support to the

Interagency Process for Global Ethanol Market Development." As the meeting was approaching 4:00 PM, there was insufficient time to reach a decision on the last two recommendations. However, the meeting on November 2 is specifically being held to discuss and approve the CTECS recommendation, as it is time sensitive, so the two remaining subcommittee recommendations were tabled until the next full meeting on December.

The meeting was then opened up to comments from the public. There was no public comment.

The meeting adjourned at 4:02 PM.

Attendees

Department of Commerce:

- Adam O'Malley, Director, Office of Energy and Environmental Industries (OEEI)
- Man Cho, Deputy Director, OEEI
- Cora Dickson, Designated Federal Officer (DFO) for the REEEAC and Senior Renewable Energy Specialist, OEEI
- Devin Horne, Secondary DFO for the REEEAC and International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Christian Herman, International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Andrew Moyseowicz, International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Frederick Richardson, Intern, OEEI

Advisory Committee Members Present:

- Ms. Gaelle Burkhart, Director of Global Stakeholder Relations, AES Corporation
- Mr. Tyler Stoff, Director of Regulatory Affairs, American Council on Renewable Energy
- Mr. Sean Tilly, Global Technology Portfolio Manager, Black & Veatch
- Mr. Vish Palekar, Vice President of Worldwide Partnerships and Sales Operations, Bloom Energy
- Dr. Russell Read, Group Managing Partner, C-Change Group
- Mr. Jeremy Harrell, Managing Director of Policy, ClearPath
- Mr. Bruce Colburn, Executive Vice President and Co-Founder, EPS Capital
- Ms. Cynthia Thyfault, Founder and CEO, Global BioFuture Solutions
- Mr. Phillip Green, President and CEO, Green Powered Technology
- Mr. Brett Feldman, Research Director, Guidehouse Insights
- Mr. Gary Rackliffe, Vice President, Market Development and Innovation North America, Hitachi ABB Power Grids
- Mr. Brad Gammons, CEO, Irth Solutions
- Mr. Amir Eftekhari, Senior Director, International Relations, Jacobs
- Mr. Bruce Lisle, Director, Strategic Initiatives, Lignetics
- Ms. Ramya Swaminathan, CEO, Malta
- Mr. Alexander Boesenberg, Director, Regulatory Affairs, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
- Mr. William Pott, Government Services Project Manager, POWER Engineers
- Ms. Kelly Davis, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Renewable Fuels Association
- Mr. Kwabena Osei-Sarpong, President and CEO, RIFE International

- Mr. Kenneth Kramer, Managing Director, Rushton Atlantic
- Mr. Matt Card, President and Chief Operating Officer, Suniva
- Mr. Joseph Mendelson, Senior Counsel of Public Policy and Business Development, Tesla
- Mr. Jorge Sanchez, Founder and CEO, THOR Energy
- Mr. Mark Higgins, Managing Director, Tiger Power Ventures
- Mr. Ravinda Vora, CEO, Transventure Energy
- Mr. Terence Dittrich, President, TWD Global Enterprises
- Mr. Brian Healy, Director of Global Ethanol Market Development, U.S. Grains Council
- Mr. William Taylor III, Co-Founder and Chief Commercial Officer, Verdant Power
- Mr. Steffen Shelley, Vice President of Energy and Renewables, VLO Offshore

Advisory Committee Members Absent:

- Mr. Jeremy Harrell, Managing Director of Policy, ClearPath
- Mr. Paul Mutchler, Director of Commercial Operations, Mission Solar Energy
- Mr. Carl Fleming, Partner, McDermott, Will and Emery LLP
- Mr. Rahul Chopra, Managing Partner, AGE Capital
- Ms. Johanna Jochum, Counsel, American Clean Power Association
- Mr. Terry Fry, Senior Vice President of Energy Services, Cadmus

Guest Speakers from Department of Energy (DOE):

- Ms. Carla Frisch, Principal Deputy Director, Office of Policy
- Tsisilile (Tisi) Igogo, PhD, Supply Chain Review Lead Coordinator, Office of Policy
- Subject Matter Experts:
 - o Energy storage Benjamin Shrager
 - o Transformers and HVDC Andre Pereira
 - o Solar PV Markus Peck and David Feldman
 - o Wind Patrick Gilman
 - Hydropower Kyle Desomber
 - o Fuel Cells & Electrolyzers Dimitrios Papageorgopoulos
 - Nuclear energy Mike Goff
 - o Semiconductors David Diamond
 - Neodymium magnets David Diamond
 - o Platinum Group Metals & Other Catalysts David Diamond
 - o Carbon Capture materials- Grant Bromhal
 - Cybersecurity and Digital Components Cheri Caddy
 - o Commercialization and competitiveness James Fritz

Registered Members of the Public:

- Barbara E. Goodrich, John Deere Product Engineering Center
- Elizabeth Nesbitt, U.S. International Trade Commission
- Grace Dearnley, Black & Veatch Corporation
- Jere Suter, Shell Oil Company
- Leilani Gonzalez, Zero Emission Transportation Association

- Lisa Riker, Wiley Rein LLP
- Margaret Spiegelman, Inside US Trade
- Omer Bab, Economic and Trade Mission Embassy of Israel
- Rakesh Vaziran, TÜV Rheinland Group
- Scott Gemperline, National Mining Association
- Scott Moskowitz, Hanwha Q CELLS North America
- Shane Souza, Souza Family Farms
- Timothy Fox, ClearView Energy Partners, LLC