U.S. Department of Commerce Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) Sixth Charter, 2020-2022 Meeting #2

July 29, 2021 Meeting Minutes

The second meeting of the sixth charter of the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) was held virtually via WebEx from 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM.

Designated Federal Officer (DFO) Cora Dickson opened the meeting with announcements, noting that the REEEAC subcommittees had met a total of 14 times since the May 26 meeting. She noted that the next full meeting would be held in October, with a cadence of approximately two months for the foreseeable future, although the meetings would be shorter than in the past (three hours instead of a full day).

The subcommittees gave readouts of the topics they had covered in their meetings.

- o Trade promotion and market access (Chair: Terry Fry)
- o Global Decarbonization (Chair: Cindy Thyfault)
- o Clean energy supply chains (Chair: Tyler Stoff)
- o Technology and Innovation (Chair: Ravi Vora)

REEEAC Chair Mark Higgins then introduced Dr. Monica Gorman, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing at the U.S. Department of Commerce, who made introductory remarks about the Clean Technologies Export Competitiveness (CTEC) Strategy that Commerce is developing in partnership with the office of the Special Envoy to the President on Climate (SPEC). This was followed by a brief overview presentation by Devin Horne of the Office of Energy and Environmental Industries. Mr. Horne described the scope of the CTEC Strategy and the types of questions that Commerce is considering in both the short term and the long term. He noted that a "Request for Information" would be published in the Federal Register in August, and REEEAC members were encouraged to submit input. However, the REEEAC as a whole was also requested to provide its consensus recommendation(s) to Commerce for the CTEC Strategy. A discussion followed, with generally positive reaction from the REEEAC members towards the initiative.

Next, the REEEAC turned its attention to a draft recommendation by the Clean Energy Supply Chains Subcommittee, "Acceleration of 1-year Review of the Solar Manufacturing Supply Chain." The subcommittee's recommendation urged the Secretary of Commerce to "request of, and work with, the Secretary of Energy, to facilitate the acceleration of the 1-year Solar Manufacturing supply chain review, mandated by the President as part of Executive Order 14017, dated February 24, 2021, in order to complete such a review before November 15, 2021."

The recommendation described the context of the request, and stated that the impact of such a review would be to "provide valuable additional insight into the state of the domestic supply chain, which is particularly necessary while actions are being considered throughout the United States Government to reinvigorate the industry." The recommendation was approved by the full REEEAC subcommittee without modification.

The REEEAC members were then briefed by an interagency panel regarding the status of three regional initiatives and the role of clean energy in each: Asia EDGE (State Department), Power Africa (USAID), and the U.S.-EU Technology and Trade Council (USTR).

The final session of the day was a presentation by the U.S. Department of Energy's Loan Program Office on its new clean energy priorities, followed by a Q&A session with the REEEAC members.

There was no public comment.

The meeting adjourned at 4:05 PM.

<u>Attendees</u>

Department of Commerce:

- Monica Gorman, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing
- Adam O'Malley, Director, Office of Energy and Environmental Industries (OEEI)
- Man Cho, Deputy Director, OEEI
- Cora Dickson, Designated Federal Officer (DFO) for the REEEAC and Senior Renewable Energy Specialist, OEEI
- Devin Horne, Secondary DFO for the REEEAC and International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Christian Herman, International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Andrew Moyseowicz, International Trade Specialist, OEEI

Advisory Committee Members Present:

- Ms. Gaelle Burkhart, Director of Global Stakeholder Relations, AES Corporation
- Mr. Rahul Chopra, Managing Partner, AGE Capital
- Ms. Johanna Jochum, Counsel, American Clean Power Association
- Mr. Tyler Stoff, Director of Regulatory Affairs, American Council on Renewable Energy
- Mr. Sean Tilly, Global Technology Portfolio Manager, Black & Veatch
- Mr. Vish Palekar, Vice President of Worldwide Partnerships and Sales Operations, Bloom Energy
- Mr. Terry Fry, Senior Vice President of Energy Services, Cadmus
- Mr. Jeremy Harrell, Managing Director of Policy, ClearPath
- Mr. Bruce Colburn, Executive Vice President and Co-Founder, EPS Capital
- Ms. Cynthia Thyfault, Founder and CEO, Global BioFuture Solutions
- Mr. Phillip Green, President and CEO, Green Powered Technology
- Mr. Brett Feldman, Research Director, Guidehouse Insights

- Mr. Gary Rackliffe, Vice President, Market Development and Innovation North America, Hitachi ABB Power Grids
- Mr. Amir Eftekhari, Senior Director, International Relations, Jacobs
- Mr. Bruce Lisle, Director, Strategic Initiatives, Lignetics
- Ms. Ramya Swaminathan, CEO, Malta
- Mr. Paul Mutchler, Director of Commercial Operations, Mission Solar Energy
- Mr. Alexander Boesenberg, Director, Regulatory Affairs, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
- Mr. William Pott, Government Services Project Manager, POWER Engineers
- Ms. Kelly Davis, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Renewable Fuels Association
- Mr. Kwabena Osei-Sarpong, President and CEO, RIFE International
- Mr. Kenneth Kramer, Managing Director, Rushton Atlantic
- Mr. Matt Card, President and Chief Operating Officer, Suniva
- Mr. Joseph Mendelson, Senior Counsel of Public Policy and Business Development, Tesla
- Mr. Jorge Sanchez, Founder and CEO, THOR Energy
- Mr. Mark Higgins, Managing Director, Tiger Power Ventures
- Mr. Ravinda Vora, CEO, Transventure Energy
- Mr. Terence Dittrich, President, TWD Global Enterprises
- Mr. William Taylor III, Co-Founder and Chief Commercial Officer, Verdant Power
- Mr. Steffen Shelley, Vice President of Energy and Renewables, VLO Offshore

Advisory Committee Members Absent:

- Mr. Carl Fleming, Partner, McDermott, Will and Emery LLP
- Mr. Brad Gammons, CEO, irth Solutions
- Mr. Brian Healy, Director of Global Ethanol Market Development, U.S. Grains Council
- Dr. Russell Read, Group Managing Partner, C-Change Group
- Mr. Sean Tilly, Global Technology Portfolio Manager, Black & Veatch

Guest Speakers from Trade Promotion Coordinating Committee (TPCC) agencies:

- State Department (Asia EDGE): Garrett Barnicoat
- U.S. Agency for International Development (Power Africa): Julius Svoboda, Ryan Tramonte, Abbie Laugtug
- U.S. Trade Representative: David Weiner, Deputy Assistant U.S. Trade Representative for Europe
- Department of Energy (Loan Programs Office): Robert Marcum

Registered Members of the Public:

- Mamun Rashid
- Kiera O'Brien
- Robert Wainio
- Riad Habib

- Jost Schliep Timothy Fox
- Omer Bab
- Paul Wilkins
- Masahiko Uchino
- Benjamin Bajema