

U.S. Department of Commerce Civil Nuclear Trade Advisory Committee (CINTAC) Meeting

Seventh Charter, 2020-2022

Thursday, November 4, 2021, 11:00am - 12:30pm EDT Virtual Meeting: MS Teams

MINUTES

11:00 – 11:05 **Welcome and Roll Call**

• Jonathan Chesebro, Designated Federal Officer of the CINTAC, U.S. Department of Commerce (DOC)

11:05 – 11:10 Welcome and Overview of Meeting Agenda

• Jeff Harper, CINTAC Chair and Ralph Hunter, CINTAC Vice Chair

11:10 – 11:45 <u>Discussion</u>: Proposed CINTAC Letter on U.S.-Canada Cooperation

- <u>Purpose</u>: CINTAC members will discuss and vote on a proposed letter from the Deployment Subcommittee on U.S.-Canada civil nuclear cooperation.
- Speaker: Gary Wolski, CINTAC Deployment Subcommittee Chair
 - Reviewed proposed letter and noted the importance of U.S.-Canada civil nuclear relationship and the long history of close cooperation between both countries. Proposed letter incorporates CINTAC member input.
 - Proposed letter includes three primary recommendations: keep the U.S.-Canada border open, encourage continued cooperation on nuclear regulations, and encourage cooperation on highassay low-enriched uranium (HALEU).
 - O During the discussion, members suggested referencing Natural Resources Canada (NRCAN) in the letter and also noted the need to reach out to provincial leadership. The Canadian market is important to near-term commerce for U.S. companies and one member suggested that HALEU be referenced in all Committee letters given its importance to industry.
 - Members agreed to specifically reference DOE/NNSA in the letter. Group discussed whether the Canadian Minister of Small Business or the Minister of International Trade Diversification (or both) was the appropriate counterpart for the Secretary of Commerce.



- One member suggested specifically referencing the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNRC) in the letter and slightly modifying the language regarding regulatory work
- Deployment Subcommittee Chair put letter to a full committee vote –committee voted to approve letter with previously discussed changes.

11:45 – 12:00 Conclusion and Next Steps

12:00 – 12:30 **Public Comment & Adjourn**

• One member of the public (Leland Cogliani, Senior Principal, Lewis-Burke Associates) noted that on November 3rd, the U.S. House released a budget that allocated \$500 million for DOE to launch a HALEU program. Unknown if this will remain in the final budget.



Meeting Participants:

Members of the public:

- John VerWey, Global Security, Technology, and Policy Group, National Security Directorate, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
- Justin Meyers, Policy Advisor, Nelson Mullins
- Jackie Toth, Senior Advocacy Director, Good Energy Collective
- Leland Cogliani, Senior Principal, Lewis-Burke Associates LLC
- Floyd DesChamps, President, The Desner Group

CINTAC Members:

- Dr. Hash Hashemian, President, Analysis and Measurement Services Corporation (AMS)
- Mr. Ahmet Tokpinar, Vice President, Business Development and Operations, Bechtel Power Corporation
- Mr. Daniel Lipman, President, Beginning Energies International
- Mr. Glenn Neises, Nuclear Director, Burns & McDonnell
- Mr. Gary Wolski, Vice President, Market Development, Curtiss-Wright
- Mr. Russell Neely, Chief Operating Officer, Edlow International Company
- Vice Admiral (Retired, U.S. Navy) William Hilarides, Advisory Board Member, Elysium Industries, USA
- Mr. Donald Hoffman, President and CEO, Excel Services Corporation
- Mr. Ralph Hunter, Vice President, Exelon Generation Company, LLC, and Chief Operating Officer, Exelon Nuclear Partners, LLC
- Mr. Dayton Lawman, Director of Sales, Navy and Nuclear Products, Flowserve Limitorque
- Mr. Brandon Brooks, Strategic Business Development Manager, General Atomics
- Mr. Rob Sweeney, President and CEO, ibeX Energy Solutions
- Mr. Seth Grae, President and CEO, Lightbridge Corporation
- Mr. Alex Polonsky, Partner, Morgan, Lewis, & Bockius LLP
- Mr. Paul Murphy, Founder and Managing Director, Murphy Energy & Infrastructure Consulting
- Mr. Michael McMahon, Vice President, Consulting and Strategic Projects, NAC International
- Mr. Eric Rasmussen, Director of Engineering and Sales, RSCC Wire and Cable, LLC
- Mr. Gard Clark, Senior Vice President, Energy and Environment, Teledyne Brown Engineering
- Ms. Marcia Burkey, Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, TerraPower, LLC
- Dr. Yassin Hassan, Professor, Texas A&M University
- Mr. Bud Albright, President and CEO, U.S. Nuclear Industry Council
- Mr. Jeff Harper, Vice President, Strategy and Business Development, X Energy, LLC



U.S. Government:

- Jonathan Chesebro, Designated Federal Officer of the CINTAC, U.S. Department of Commerce
- Armando Crosland, Foreign Affairs Specialist, Office of Nuclear Energy, U.S. Department of Energy
- Stephen Adams, Senior Level Advisor for Nuclear Energy, Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation (ISN), U.S. Department of State