U.S. Department of Commerce Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) Sixth Charter, 2020-2022 Meeting #1 May 26, 2021 Meeting Minutes

The first meeting of the sixth charter of the Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee (REEEAC) was held virtually via WebEx from 10Am to 3:30pm.

Designated Federal Officer (DFO) Cora Dickson opened the meeting with an overview of REEEAC operations, including the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA) requirements. She noted that although the REEEAC has traditionally met quarterly, it may meet more frequently due to the starting in the middle of the charter. Dickson suggested to the REEEAC members that recent Biden-Harris policy announcements such as the Executive Orders 14017 and 14008 are relevant to the work of the REEEAC. Dickson proposed three subcommittees to divide up the workstreams for recommendations. A fourth subcommittee was proposed and the members agreed to include it. After holding breakout sessions during a working lunch for the four subcommittees, the finalized subcommittees were:

- Trade promotion and market access (Chair: Terry Fry)
- Global Decarbonization (Chair: Cindy Thyfault)
- Clean energy supply chains (Chair: Tyler Stoff)
- Technology and Innovation (Chair: Ravi Vora)

Each subcommittee will meet once or twice a month to develop recommendations. Per FACA, the DFO will set up the subcommittee meetings and participate. The Chairs of the subcommittees will provide written readouts to the full REEEAC. Mark Higgins was selected to be Chair of the REEEAC, and Brett Feldman selected to be Vice Chair.

Dr. Monica Gorman, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing at the U.S. Department of Commerce, made welcoming remarks to the REEEAC. She emphasized that the REEEAC will play a critical role in the Biden-Harris Administration's climate agenda, as there is a strong international action plan. She also mentioned that Commerce is very focused on supply chain analysis. DAS Gorman encouraged the REEEAC to be ambitious in their recommendations. Her remarks were followed by a Q&A session with the REEEAC members.

The final session of the day was a panel of staff level representatives from the Trade Promotion Coordinating Committee (TPCC) agencies, who each described their roles, followed by a Q&A session with the REEEAC members per the attendance list below.

There was no public comment.

The meeting adjourned at 3:36 PM.

Attendees

Department of Commerce:

- Monica Gorman, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing
- Adam O'Malley, Director, Office of Energy and Environmental Industries (OEEI)
- Man Cho, Deputy Director, OEEI
- Cora Dickson, Designated Federal Officer (DFO) for the REEEAC and Senior Renewable Energy Specialist, OEEI
- Devin Horne, Secondary DFO for the REEEAC and International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Christian Herman, International Trade Specialist, OEEI
- Andrew Moyseowicz, International Trade Specialist, OEEI

Advisory Committee Members:

- Ms. Gaelle Burkhart, Director of Global Stakeholder Relations, AES Corporation
- Mr. Rahul Chopra, Managing Partner, AGE Capital
- Ms. Johanna Jochum, Counsel, American Clean Power Association
- Mr. Tyler Stoff, Director of Regulatory Affairs, American Council on Renewable Energy
- Mr. Sean Tilly, Global Technology Portfolio Manager, Black & Veatch
- Mr. Vish Palekar, Vice President of Worldwide Partnerships and Sales Operations, Bloom Energy
- Dr. Russell Read, Group Managing Partner, C-Change Group
- Mr. Terry Fry, Senior Vice President of Energy Services, Cadmus
- Mr. Jeremy Harrell, Managing Director of Policy, ClearPath
- Mr. Bruce Colburn, Executive Vice President and Co-Founder, EPS Capital
- Ms. Cynthia Thyfault, Founder and CEO, Global BioFuture Solutions
- Mr. Phillip Green, President and CEO, Green Powered Technology
- Mr. Brett Feldman, Research Director, Guidehouse Insights
- Mr. Gary Rackliffe, Vice President, Market Development and Innovation North America, Hitachi ABB Power Grids
- Mr. Brad Gammons, CEO, irth Solutions
- Mr. Bruce Lisle, Director, Strategic Initiatives, Lignetics
- Mr. Amir Eftekhari, Senior Director, International Relations, Jacobs
- Ms. Ramya Swaminathan, CEO, Malta
- Mr. Carl Fleming, Partner, McDermott, Will and Emery LLP
- Mr. Paul Mutchler, Director of Commercial Operations, Mission Solar Energy
- Mr. Alexander Boesenberg, Director, Regulatory Affairs, National Electrical Manufacturers Association
- Mr. William Pott, Government Services Project Manager, POWER Engineers
- Ms. Kelly Davis, Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Renewable Fuels Association

- Mr. Kwabena Osei-Sarpong, President and CEO, RIFE International
- Mr. Kenneth Kramer, Managing Director, Rushton Atlantic
- Mr. Matt Card, President and Chief Operating Officer, Suniva
- Mr. Joseph Mendelson, Senior Counsel of Public Policy and Business Development, Tesla
- Mr. Jorge Sanchez, Founder and CEO, THOR Energy
- Mr. Mark Higgins, Managing Director, Tiger Power Ventures
- Mr. Ravinda Vora, CEO, Transventure Energy
- Mr. Terence Dittrich, President, TWD Global Enterprises
- Mr. Brian Healy, Director of Global Ethanol Market Development, U.S. Grains Council
- Mr. William Taylor III, Co-Founder and Chief Commercial Officer, Verdant Power
- Mr. Steffen Shelley, Vice President of Energy and Renewables, VLO Offshore

Trade Promotion Coordinating Committee (TPCC) agencies

- U.S. Trade and Development Agency (Jillian Foerster, Country Manager, West Africa Sub-Region Lead, Clean Energy Sector Team)
- Treasury Department (Victoria Gunderson, Coordinator, Climate Task Force, Office of International Affairs)
- State Department (Katy Clarke, Senior Clean Energy Officer, Energy Transformation, Bureau of Energy Resources)
- Export-Import Bank (Craig O'Connor, Renewable Energy & Environmental Exports Officer, Project Finance Division)
- Department of Energy (Brad Simmons, Director, Office of Market Development, International Affairs)
- U.S. Agency for International Development (Alex Lane, Energy Division Lead, Center for Environment, Energy and Infrastructure
- U.S. Department of Agriculture (Emily Marthaler, International Trade Specialist (Biofuels), Foreign Agricultural Service)
- Office of the Special Presidential Envoy on Climate (Sagatom Saha, Policy Advisor for Clean Energy, Innovation, and Competitiveness)

Registered Members of the Public:

- Carrie Sherer, Associate Director of Government Affairs, Black & Veatch
- Kazuhiro Sugie, Councellor, Embassy of Japan
- Josh Mahan, Director, Government and Industry Relations, Xylem
- Maram T. Salaheldin, Attorney at Law, Clark Hill
- Paula Soos, Covanta
- Margaret Spiegelman, Inside U.S. Trade