Press Release
Energy United States Mexico

U.S. Departments of Commerce and Energy Appoint U.S. Selection of the U.S.-Mexico Energy Business Council

For Immediate Release
January 15, 2021
Contact: Office of Public Affairs
Phone: 202-482-3809


The U.S. Departments of Commerce and Energy recently appointed new U.S. private sector representatives (the U.S. Section) to the U.S.-Mexico Energy Business Council (Council). The Council, which is comprised of private sector representatives from both countries, is tasked with providing actionable, non-binding recommendations to both governments on ways to strengthen the U.S.-Mexico relationship on trade, investment, and competitiveness in the energy sector. Council members serve a two-year term.

The governments are represented on the Council by the Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade and the Assistant Secretary of Energy for the Office of International Affairs on the U.S. side. Mexico is represented by its Secretary of Energy and the Secretariat of Economy’s Under Secretary of Foreign Trade.

The following individuals will serve on the U.S. Section of the Council for the December 2020 - December 2022 term:

  • Anuar Barake, Vice President for Mexico and Northern Latin America, Emerson Automation Solutions, St. Louis, Missouri
  • Bill Bojorquez, Senior Vice President of Hunt Energy Solutions and Hunt Mexico Development, Dallas, Texas
  • Michael Brown, President of Burns McDonnell International, Burns McDonnell Engineering Company, Kansas City, Missouri
  • Cecilia De La Macorra, Director for the Americas of International Government Relations, Exxon Mobil, Irving, Texas
  • Michael Dembrak, Key Account Vice President, Latin America, Westinghouse Electric Company, LLC, Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
  • Leonard Moreno, President, AES Clean Energy, The AES Corporation, Arlington, Virginia
  • Jose Parra, President, Chevron Fuels Mexico, San Ramon, California
  • Bob Perez, Vice President, Region Leader, South America & Mexico, Baker Hughes, Houston, Texas
  • Jonathan Stewart, Industry Director for Utility Products and Systems, National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA), Rosslyn, Virginia
  • Tim Tarpley, Vice President of Government Affairs, Petroleum Equipment & Services Association (PESA), Houston, Texas

The first meeting under the new term is expected to occur virtually in spring 2021.


Email Call to Action Logo
Email Updates
Subscribe to get the latest ITA news items delivered straight to your inbox.