Russia - Country Commercial Guide
Prohibited & Restricted Imports

Includes a list of goods that are prohibited from being exported to the country or are otherwise restricted.

Last published date: 2021-10-16

The import and export of goods in Russia are carried out following the unified list of the commodities that are prohibited or restricted for imports into the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU). The list was approved by the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) Collegium Resolution No.134 dated August 16, 2012. Additional documents regulating the import and export of goods include the Customs Union Agreement on Licensing Regulations of International Trade dated June 9, 2009, and the RF decree No.1567-р of 23.09.2010.

A current list of these items, and the applicable regulations, can be found at the following site:

Russian Post, the postal system in Russia, has restrictions and prohibitions for international mailing of specific items, based on Article 22 of the Federal Law on Postal Service. Some categories of items may be permitted for international mailing for personal use but will require authorization from the appropriate government agency. This is related to the imports of encryption-containing electronics. For more information and the current list of items, check the Russian Post website.

Russia has maintained a ban on the importation of nearly all U.S. as well as most European food products since August 2014 in response to Ukraine-related sanctions. Specifically, Russia imposed a ban on imports of certain agricultural and food products (covering about 52 specified HS classifications) originating from the United States, European Union, Canada, Australia, and Norway. The ban applies to meat, meat products, milk, dairy products, fish, fish products, fruits, and vegetables. Salt was added to the list of prohibited products in November 2016, although the ban on salt deliveries for use in the production of medicines and bio-active supplements was suspended on May 20, 2017. The agricultural product import ban originally in place was extended until the end of 2021.

Aside from Russian Government-imposed restrictions, several other exports to Russia are prohibited by U.S. laws or regulations. Russia-related sanctions have been implemented under multiple legal authorities in the form of executive orders and public laws since 2014. On August 2, 2017, the President signed the Countering America’s Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA) which codified and expanded sanctions announced from 2014-2016 on certain Russian entities and sectors. CAATSA includes sanctions affecting trade with the financial, defense, and energy sectors, and “blocking sanctions” which prohibit business with certain individuals and entities. U.S. sanctions on Russia include restrictions on the duration of debt and equity financing that can be provided to some Russian banks and energy firms and restrictions on specific oil-related exports, services, and technology to Russia. Technology export controls focus on the exportation of goods, services, or technology in support of exploration or production for deep-water, Arctic offshore, or shale projects that have the potential to produce oil in Russia or the maritime area claimed by Russia.