Trade.gov Logo
Trade.gov Logo
facebook twitter tra Email

Office of Transportation and Machinery

Contact

Room 4036
U.S. Department of Commerce
Washington, DC Phone: 20230-0001
Phone: 202-482-0554

FRONT OFFICE

AEROSPACE TEAM

AUTOMOTIVE TEAM

MACHINERY TEAM


FRONT OFFICE

Scott Kennedy—Acting Office Director
Email:Scott.Kennedy@trade.gov

Stephanie Dabney—Administrative Specialist
Email:Stephanie.Dabney@trade.gov

Tonya Finton—International Trade Specialist
Email:Tonya.Finton@trade.gov


AEROSPACE TEAM

Scott Kennedy - Aerospace Team Leader
Email:scott.kennedy@trade.gov
Phone: 202-482-1474

Jonathan Alvear
Aviation security, airport infrastructure, and avionics
Next Generation Air Traffic Management (NextGen)
Prepares critical data and economic analysis essential for trade negotiations and policy development
Email:Jonathan.Alvear@trade.gov
Phone: 202-482-4125

Fred Elliott
Large civil aircraft
Competiveness and subsidies issues
Aircraft parts, including Parts Manufacturer Approval (PMA) parts
Airworthiness approval regulations
Offsets
WTO Agreement on Trade in Civil Aircraft
U.S. export control regulations
Aerospace issues in Europe, Canada and Japan
Email:Fred.Elliott@trade.gov
Phone: 202-482-1233

Alexis Haakensen
Aircraft finance, export credits and Cape Town Convention
Environment and alternative fuels
General aviation aircraft, regional jets, and rotorcraft
Aeronautics issues in China and Brazil, Southern Africa
Designated Federal Officer for the Industry Trade Advisory Committee on Aerospace Equipment (ITAC 1)
Email:Alexis.Haakensen@trade.gov
Phone: 202-482-6235

Kim Wells
Space launch, space products
Remote sensing
Designated Federal Officer for the Industry Trade Advisory Committee on Aerospace Equipment (ITAC 1)
Email:Kim.Wells@trade.gov
Phone: 202-482-2232


AUTOMOTIVE TEAM

Thomas SobottaAutomotive Team Leader
Email:Thomas.Sobotta@trade.gov

Elizabeth Couch
Monitors automotive-related issues in China, North Africa, and the Middle East.
Monitors automotive-related counterfeiting issues.
Serves as Team Leader for the Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA) Market Development Cooperator Program Award.
Provides industry input for Commerce's automotive-related trade promotion events, such as Automotive Aftermarket Industry Week.
Email:Elizabeth.Couch@trade.gov

Elena Mikalis
Monitors automotive industry issues in ASEAN countries and backstops Europe and Latin America.
Coordinates Auto Team activities for the National Export Initiative (NEI)
Monitors technological innovations in the auto industry.
Monitors U.S. and international standards issues affecting the U.S. automotive industry.
Monitors regulatory issues, NHTS, and U.S. EPA issues of concern to the U.S. automotive industry.
Email:Elena.Mikalis@trade.gov

Andy Parris
Monitors automotive industry issues in Central and South America, Caribbean, Lebanon, Israel, and Jordan.
Monitors automotive remanufacturing issues.
Monitors and addresses issues related to advanced automotive drive train, alternative fuel and fuel-economy related technologies.
Email:Andy.Parris@trade.gov

Todd Peterson
Monitors automotive industry issues in China, Japan, Australia, and New Zealand.
Monitors auto-related issues in the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) and Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) forum.
Addresses automotive-related Free Trade Zone (FTZ) concerns.
Serve as Team Leader for the CALSTART Market Development Cooperator Program Award.
Prepares U.S. vehicle-related trade data.
Email:Todd.Peterson@trade.gov

Joanne Roberson
Monitors automotive industry issues in Western and Eastern Europe and backstops ASEAN countries.
Monitors technological innovations in the auto industry.
Serves as back-up on regulatory issues and U.S. EPA issues of concern to the U.S. automotive industry.
Monitors WTO-related issues.
Email:Joanne.Roberson@trade.gov

Jeffrey Williams
Monitors automotive issues in Mexico, Canada, Korea, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh
Monitors North American Free Trade Agreement and U.S.-Korea Free Trade Agreement automotive-related issues
Monitors U.S. legislative issues of concern to the automotive industry
Email: Jeffrey.Williams@trade.gov


MACHINERY TEAM

Padraic SweeneyMachinery Team Leader (Acting)
Senior Policy Advisor
Monitors industry and trade policy issues on:
Agricultural Equipment
Food Processing Equipment
Packaging Machinery
Commercial Refrigeration Equipment
Hotel & Restaurant Equipment
Materials Handling Equipment
Email:Padraic.Sweeney@trade.gov

Kit Rudd
Monitors industry and trade policy issues on:
Construction Equipment
Mining Machinery
Re-Manufactured Machinery
Fluid Power Technology
Pumps
Electric Motors
Plastics Production Equipment
Printing, Publishing & Converting Technologies and Equipment
Email:Kit.Rudd@trade.gov

Forrest Nielsen
Designated Federal Officer (DFO) for the Industry Trade Advisory Committee on Automotive Equipment and Capital Goods (ITAC-2).
Web Site Coordinator for Automotive and Machinery Teams
Prepares data for Automotive and Machinery Teams
Monitors industry and trade issues on:
Diesel Engines
Precision Agriculture
Packaging Materials
Metalworking Equipment/Machine Tools
Industrial Molds
Special Dies, Tools, Jigs & Fixtures
Robotics
Welding Apparatus
Soldering Equipment
Email:Forrest.Nielsen@trade.gov


divider


Last Updated: 8/5/13 5:09 PM